Theres a lot to play for at Royal Troon

Sunday 17 July 2016


Most regular golf fans will be well aware the winner of The 145th Open Championship will be presented with the Claret Jug but that is by no means the only prize up for grabs at Royal Troon.

What is less well-known is Zach Johnson’s successor will also receive a Gold Medal along with a cheque for £1,175,000. It was presented for the first time back in 1872 at Prestwick where Tom Morris Jnr was the first recipient. Prior to that, up until 1870, the winner received The Challenge Belt, but Tom Jr was allowed to keep it when he won it for a third year in-a-row in 1870. There was no Championship in 1871.

There is also a Silver Medal which is awarded annually to the leading amateur in the field. It was introduced in 1949 when Frank Stranahan took it back home to America but it will not be presented this week because it only goes to the leading amateur who plays all four rounds and both Amateur champion, Scott Gregory, and European Amateur champion, Stefano Mazzoli, missed the cut this.

The R&A presents a Bronze Medal to any other amateur who plays all four rounds of The Open.

 The PGA also presents three awards for performances at The Open.

The Tooting Bec Cup, first awarded in 1924, goes to the golfer who shoots the lowest round at The Open. The Ryle Memorial Medal, introduced in 1920 in memory of Arthur Ryle, a former PGA chairman, is awarded to a PGA member who wins The Open, while the Braid Taylor Memorial Medal goes to the leading PGA member in the field. The latter was first awarded in 1966 in honour of founding PGA members, and former Open champions, James Braid and JH Taylor.

Last year Rory McIlroy collected a clean sweep of all three PGA awards after winning The Open at St Andrews.


The Open, Sunday 17 July 2016: Theres a lot to play for at Royal Troon

News Archive